ARCTICA “Symphony No. 4” for Piano, Choir and Orchestra

I. Solarstein – Searching for North
Angakok’s First Flight: Beyond Dreaming
II. Magic Incantation: Spirits of Light
Angakok’s Second Flight
III. Magic Incantation: The Spirit of the Wind
Angakok’s Third Flight
IV. Dance of the Men-Bears
Angakok’s Fourth Flight
V. Dance-Duel of the Women-Foxes
Angakok’s Fifth Flight: Lament for Mistaking Wife for a Fox
VI. Magic Incantation: The Spirit of the Moon
Angakok’s Sixth Flight: The World of the Dead
VII. Magic Incantation: The Great Sedna (The Spirit of the Sea)
VIII. Arctica – The Crystal Mirror

YEAR: 2019


3(picc, alto flute).3(cor anglais).3(bass clar).3(db bn) – – timp, 6 perc (crot, flex, whistle, temple bl, side dr, bass dr, tam-t, tubular bells, glsp, vibr, marimba, theremin, water-drops, ice-drums, waterphone, watergong, chrystal glasses). 2 harps. cel. piano strings

TEXT BY: Lera Auerbach (In Inuit)


Commissioned by the National Geographic Society, National Symphony Orchestra and Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra

30 March 2019, Washington, Kennedy Center
Lera Auerbach (piano) – The Washington Chorus – National Symphony Orchestra of Washington – Teddy Abrams (conductor)